# Sidney Community School District

# Ground Breaking Ceremony/Regular Meeting School Board

## December 14, 2020 2754 Knox Road 5:15 pm

Ground Breaking Ceremony

Members of the school board, bond committee, and city council were present to officially break ground for the new construction at the secondary building.

Call meeting to order and determine a quorum

President Ettleman called the meeting to order at 5:23 pm. Directors present were Alisha Ettleman, Matt McLaren, Renee Johnson and Justin Travis. Director Shad Smith arrived at 5:29 pm. Also present were Superintendent Tim Hood, Secondary Principal Kim Payne, Elementary Principal Shannon Wehling, Business Manager Jennifer Maher and Board Secretary Janet Lemrick.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Recognition of guests and public comment

There were seven guests present. No public comment.

#### Approval of amended agenda

Motion to approve the amended consent agenda was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Travis. Motion carried. Ayes 4 Nays 0

Motion to pay the bills to be paid pending electronic review and approval was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Johnson. Motion carried. Ayes 4 Nays 0

#### **Reports**

Mrs. Wehling presented the elementary report.

Mrs. Payne presented the secondary report.

Mr. Josh Poe presented the maintenance report.

Mr. Tim Lemrick presented the transportation report.

Mr. Hood presented the superintendent report.

•Bond Update-Ground Breaking Ceremony was well attended given the weather. Pay app meeting are held 1-2 times a month and it is encouraged for a board member to attend. Progress is being made with groundwork, footings and lift stations.

#### **Discussion**

- a. Update Parking Area at Football Field-the Board will work with the city to improve roads leading into the proposed new parking lot for the football/track field.
- b. Resolution Approving Revenue Purpose Statement and Ordering and Election-this resolution needs to renewed by 2029. The Board decided to table for another year.
- c. Special Ed District Developed Service Delivery Plan (DDSDP)-Mrs. Wehling discussed with the Board the renewal/reviewing requirements for this plan.
- d. Rebid Packages #9 General Trades and #4 Suppression Systems-Mr. Hood and Ryan Quiring, Construction Project Manager, went over the submitted bids and their recommendations for the two packages.

### Action items

a. Approval of Gifting Property to the City

The Board agreed to work closely with the city to improve the access to the new football/track field parking lot. No motion was needed at the time.

b. Approval of Resolution Approving Revenue Purpose Statement, and Ordering an Election. The Board agreed to table this resolution until December 2021

c. Approval of DDSDP(Special Ed District Developed Service Delivery Plan)

Motion to the Special Education District Developed Service Delivery Plan was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Travis. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

d. Approval of Bid Packages #9 and #4

Motion to award Package #9 General Trades to Anderson Construction, Council Bluffs, and Package #4 Elementary Suppression System to Big Red Fire Protection, Omaha, was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Johnson. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

# Resignation of Personnel

i. Connie Scott, 7-12 PTE Math Jr/Sr High

Motion to accept the resignation of Connie Scott, Jr/Sr High Part time Math Instructor, effective end of 2020-21 school year, was made by Director Travis with second by Director Johnson. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

ii. Alissa Moreland, Secondary Building Secretary

Motion to accept the resignation of Alissa Moreland, Secondary Building Secretary, effective immediately was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Travis. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

iii. Jennifer Maher, Business Manager

Motion to accept the resignation of Jennifer Maher, Business Manager, effective January 20, 2021 was made by Director Johnson with second by Director Smith. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

iv. Nancy Batenhorst, Part time Cook

Motion to accept the resignation of Nancy Batenhorst, Part time Cook, was made by Director Travis with second by Director McLaren. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

Approval of Personnel

i. Kandra Johnson, Jr. Class Sponsor

Motion to hire Kandra Johnson as Jr. Class Sponsor, was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Travis. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

ii. Liz Tedder, Full Time Cook

Motion to hire Liz Tedder as Full Time Cook was made by Director Travis with second by Director Johnson. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

iii. Kayla Myers, Secondary Para

Motion to hire Kayla Myers as Secondary Para was made by Director Travis with second by Director Johnson. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

#### Board Comments

Mr. Hood apologized to the Board for any misunderstanding of the start time of this scheduled meeting. Director McLaren asked about the weight of backpacks that students are carrying and if lockers use could be reinstated after the winter break.

Mr. Hood thanked Jennifer Maher for her years of service to the district and for making his transition to our district as easy as possible. He also wished to thank ALL of the staff, students and parents for their efforts to keep our students in the traditional school setting since the beginning of this school year.

President Ettleman thanked Aaron Lang for his efforts to cover virtually the events and activities of students. She has received positive feedback from the community.

<u>Celebrations</u>

Page County Newspapers All-Area Team Selections – 1<sup>st</sup> Team-Paige Smith; 2<sup>nd</sup> Team-Cole Jorgenson, Kaden Payne

Christian Harris selected to 1<sup>st</sup> Chair Percussion at SWIBA Honor Band beating out contestants from Denison, Lewis Central, Clarinda and Glenwood.

Perkins Mini Grant recipients –Brad Johnson \$7,000; Shawn Thompson \$3028: Terri Whitehead \$4,590; and Quinn Sheldon \$8,775

National Celebrating Art Competition winners – Cassandra Moreno, Jada Carpenter, Kennedy Shull Adjournment

Motion to adjourn at 6:16 pm was made by Director Travis with second by Director Smith. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

**Board President** 

Board Secretary

Date